Rugby Union

Rugby 2

Weekly 15 a side rugby competitions are organised by the Waikato Secondary School Rugby Association (administration completed by the Waikato Rugby Union) and the Thames Valley Rugby Union.  King Country schools play as part of the Waikato SS Rugby Association competition.

A number of schools in the region also compete in external competitions such a the Super 8 competition – Hamilton Boys High only, and the Central North Island [CNI] competition. The CNI schools at present are St Pauls Collegiate, St Johns College and St Peters School.

In 2019 all Waikato Schools will compete in a centralized pre-season trophy competition over three rounds.

Some schools within the greater reason have been involved in Chief’s cup and Trophy pre-season matches.

Qualification for the NZSS top four competition is based upon franchise region of the Chiefs to establish the top Boys, Coed and Girls team to represent the greater region after play-offs against the other Provincial union teams after regional elimination matches in the Chiefs region



May 5th – TVSS Sevens rugby competition

May 11th –  August 17th: The TVSS Boys competition will operate from  for fifteen a side  teams

September – TVSS Girls Rugby – Ten  a side

Waikato Secondary Schools Rugby Competition results can be found here


Thames Valley Secondary Schools Rugby Competition results can be found here




Mathew Abraham – Schools RAIS Officer
Tel:   07 862 6352 Mob: 027 692 2420